l'âge agro-industriel 19th century Today

 
Bouillon KUB

Advertizing for automatic wrapping machine
Advertizing for
automatic wrapping machine

Beginning and development
of the agro-food industry

The double revolution in agriculture and industry, which occurred in England in the 18th century, laid the foundation for the development of the agro-food industry, and completely changed the conditions for agriculture and food-production.

Publicité Royalpac SimonThe agro-food industry (def.) replaced agriculture first in the transformation of agricultural foods (for example : substitution of industrial butter for farmer-produced butter; more recently, it allowed the replacement of homemade foods with ready-made food products (def.) ( food ready to cook, food, pre-cooked, ready to eat or to heat in microwave ovens). The wide development of restaurants and fast-food outlets led to further industrialization in the food production line, and to changes in the cooking equipment used in homes. 

At the agro-industrial food system stage, agriculture remains the irreplaceable basis for food production.  An industrial and commercial superstructure is built on this base. This superstructure ultimately commands a much larger share than agriculture in the food expenses of the consumer (def.).

 


HomepageAgropolis-Museum | History of food & agriculture | Agro-industrial times | Next

l'âge agro-industriel XIXe siècle Nos jours

Bouillon KUB

Publicité Royalpac Simon
Publicité pour
empaqueteuse automatique

(Ci-dessus et à droite)

Formation et développement de l'agro-industrie

La double révolution agricole et industrielle, qui se produit en Angleterre au XVIIIe siècle, jette les bases de la formation de l'agro-industrie, et modifie radicalement les conditions de l'agriculture et de l'alimentation.

Publicité Royalpac Simon Les industries alimentaires (déf.) se substituèrent d'abord à l'agriculture dans la transformation des produits agricoles (exemple : substitution du beurre industriel au beurre fermier) puis, plus récemment, elles remplacèrent le travail domestique alimentaire par la production d'aliments "services" (déf.). Le développement important de la restauration aliments servis (déf.)), a poursuivi l'industrialisation de la chaîne alimentaire, complétée par l'équipement des ménages (déf.).

Au stade du système alimentaire agro-industriel, l'agriculture demeure la base irremplaçable de l'alimentation. Sur cette base s'édifie une superstructure industrielle et commerciale, qui, à terme, représente une part beaucoup plus importante que l'agriculture dans les dépenses alimentaires du consommateur (déf.).


AccueilAgropolis-Museum | La Fresque Historique | L'âge agro-industriel | Suite